AFFIDAVIT OF EXEMPT STATUS UNDER THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT

State of Oklahoma )
County of : )
1, state under oath as follows:
1. I, (Name of individual) operating as

(independent  contractor's  business name), have agreed to provide services to

(Contractor) during calendar year

2. | have read, signed and attached the Exempt Status Fact Sheet and understand that an Independent
Contractor is one who engages to perform certain services for another, according to his own manner, method,
free from control and direction of his contractor in all matters connected with the performance of the service,
except as to the result or product of the work.

3. I understand that based upon the representations in this Affidavit of Exempt Status, | am requesting
CompSource Oklahoma’s Policyholder to consider my business to be that of an independent contractor:

that | am not an employee under the Workers’ Compensation Act and the policy issued by CompSource
Oklahoma; and that no premium be charged for the services performed by my business during the policy

year.

4, | am an independent contractor, not an employee of the contractor. | do not want workers’
compensation insurance and understand that | am not eligible for Workers’ Compensation benefits.

5. I will obtain workers’ compensation and employers’ liability insurance for my employees if | have employees,
unless they are otherwise exempt from the requirements of the Workers' Compensation Act.

6. I have read, signed and attached the Exempt Status Fact Sheet describing what is an Independent Contractor
and the information provided is not the result of force, threats, coercion, compulsion or duress.

7. | understand that the execution of the affidavit shall establish a rebuttable presumption that the executor is not
an employee for purposes of the Workers' Compensation Act.

8. | understand that the execution of an affidavit shall not affect the rights or coverage of any employee of the
individual executing the affidavit.

9. | understand that knowingly providing false information on an Affidavit of Exempt Status Under the Workers'
Compensation Act shall constitute a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars
($1,000.00).

Independent Contractor (Executor) Signature
Date Name Title
Signature Business Name
Notary Public
Signed and sworn tobefore meonthis_.  dayof ___ 20 by
My Commission Expires: My Commission #
Notary Public -

**%*GIVE THE SIGNED FORM TO YOUR GENERAL CONTRACTOR****

This form is to be signed and notarized at the start of a job/project for this contractor and is good for the
job/project or any similar job/project performed for the contractor for one year from the date of notary.

For domestic servants, trucking owner/operators, and other exemptions, please contact CompSource Okiahoma
at 405-232-7663 ext. 5102.

Note: Employers who knowingly and willfully require an employee or subcontractor to execute an affidavit when the
employer knows that the employee or subcontractor is required to be covered under a workers' compensation insurance
policy shall be liable for a civil penalty of up to $1,000.00 per offense. (36 OS §§924.5)

It is a crime to falsify the information on this form.
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